Southern United FC Incorporated

Establishment and formation

Southern United FC Incorporated was established in 2004 under the name Otago United Incorporated, from four associations within the Football South Federation.

Otago United Incorporated (the name until 2013) was formed by 21 clubs within the Football South Federation, from Timaru to Invercargill. 

Change of name 

Based in Dunedin, being the sole representative from Federation 7, the club was originally named Otago United Incorporated for the first nine years of its history.
During the 2013/14 season, Otago United Incorporated changed its name to Southern United FC Incorporated ("Southern United FC") on 16 August 2013 to better reflect the wide geographical area which it covers.  The area covered by Southern United FC includes Southland, Otago and South Canterbury. 


Southern United FC does so much more than merely entertain football lovers from all over the lower South Island. It also provides strong role models for the 45,000 young Kiwi children playing football, promoting a healthy and wholesome lifestyles and great passion for the sport.  

The game 

Football is the most widely played and watched sport on the planet with 3.5 billion fans and followers worldwide.  Football's growth in Aotearoa is huge and appears to be getting bigger with 74% of five to ten year old children playing football (while only 67% children of the same age play rugby).
Football is a family sport.  Young people play it, Masters play it, older people watch it and people get excited about it. It is as much a part of our culture as rugby.  Perhaps even more - After all, it is called asoccer mum, not arugby mum!!!!! 


Southern United FC covers 8,500 football enthusiasts and reaches an audience of 45,000.
Southern United FC offers more than 990 minutes of spectacular football during a football season, between November and March. 

Player pathways 

Southern United FC provides 8,500 people with a pathway to football greatness and put their players on a world stage.
With scouts from all over the world watching, many Kiwi players have been snapped up by professional, International clubs. 


Southern United FC does not have a permanent home and has been based at Tahuna Park, Sunnyvale, Carisbrook, Caledonian Ground and, more recently and currently, at the Forsyth Barr Stadium.
Southern United FC represents the lower South Island including the main centres of Dunedin, Invercargill, Timaru and Queenstown. While most home games are played at the Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin, the wide geographical reach is also reflected in the fact that several of the "friendlies" and "warm-up" games are frequently hosted outside of Dunedin.  


The best players are selected from Timaru through to Invercargill. This means that Southern United FC also gets the best supporters from the Southern most areas of our great Southern land.
Southern United FC fields two teams, ie a Youth Team and a Senior Team, which both compete in the ASB Premiership.
The Youth Team is destined for great things.  With a second place in 2013 these young men make Southern United FC and all of their supporters very proud.  Stay tuned and watch these Southern stars rise!
The Youth Team's 2014/15 season commenced with Round 1 on 5 October 2014 and concluded with Round 11 on 21 December 2014.
With a BYE in Round 1, the ASB Premiership Team season commenced with Round 2 on 8 November 2014 and will conclude with Round 18 on 14 March 2015. 

ASB Premiership 

The ASB Premiership is New Zealand's highest amateur football competition and a fiercely competitive nine-team national tournament. 
Southern United FC is one of the franchise clubs in the New Zealand Football championship, entitled ASB Premiership. 
The teams that win both the Minor Premier and the Grand Final both qualify for the OFC Champions League, where the winner goes on to the World Cup Championship and can face teams such as Manchester United and Barcelona. 

During the inaugural season, Otago United Incorporated finished second from the bottom but improved to finish fifth out of right the next season. 

Otago United Incorporated finished last and ended the season being humiliated 8-0 by league winners, Waitakere United.
This season was slightly better with Southern United FC finishing in seventh place, ahead of Canterbury United FC, despite achieving the record for the least goals scored in around robin season. 

The shortened 2008/2009 season saw Southern United FC secure two wins (both 2-1 over Canterbury United FC, home and away) and two draws (3-3 at home vs Waikato FC and 1-1 away vs Wellington).

Despite the 2008/2009 season being seven games shorter, Southern United FC still managed to score three more goals than the previous season.

Otago United Incorporated changed its name during the season, on 16 August 2013, to Southern United FC Incorporated to better reflect the area covered by the club, which includes Southland, Otago and South Canterbury.


Home games
Eight home games were scheduled to be played at ASB Football Park, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Caledonian Ground (Logan Park) and Memorial Park (Mosgiel). 

Away games
Eight away games were scheduled to be played at Rugby Park (Invercargill), David Farrington Park (Wellington), Bluewater Stadium (Park Island, Napier), Seddon Fields (Western Springs, Auckland), Fred Taylor Park (Whenuapai, Auckland), Kiwitea Street (Freyberg Field, Auckland), Hutt Creation Grounds (Wellington) and Jan Kerkhof Park (Cambridge).